2017 Australia Day Honours

On Australia Day, some very special peoplerelated to Chisholm were acknowledged as part of our nation’s honours system for serviceto the following: Mrs Rosemary Brown for service to internationalrelations through voluntary education roles.

Mr Keith Irvine for service regarding communityhealth Mr Alexander Hehr for service regardingcommunity radio Mr Bernard Millane for service in localgovernment, and to the communities of Whitehorse and Timor Leste.

Professor the Honorable Nahum Mushin, aformer Family Court Judge and Professor at Monash University for his significant service to the judiciary, to family law, to legal education, and to the welfare of children.

Professor Evan Simpson of the Hudson Instituteof Medical Research–for significant service to medical science, particularly in the fieldof breast cancer Professor Jane Den Hollander– Vice-Chancellorof Deakin University was honoured for her distinguished service to tertiary educationthrough a range of executive administration and advisory roles, as a supporter of professionaleducational organisations, and to the community.

Mr Christopher Thorn was recognised forhis service to the not-for-profit sector through advisory roles on philanthropic strategicplanning, and to the community.

And lastly,Mr Michael Wells was awarded a Public Service Medal for his outstanding public servicethrough the protection of rights for disadvantaged and vulnerable people in Victoria.

I join all Chisholm residents in congratulatingthese deserving award recipients, and I look forward to hosting them at a morning tea intheir honour next week.

Thank you Mr Deputy Speaker.

Source: Youtube